Alpha Psi Omega Logo

Alpha Psi Omega

The Alpha Psi Omega is a National Honorary Theatre Society and is the largest national honor society in America. The Alpha Psi Omega Scholarship is given to a student showing proficiency in drama or other speech areas, but the society has a long and rich history of supporting the theatrical arts. The society got its start from a group of dedicated theatre devotees known as The Masquers from Fairmont State College in Fairmont, West Virginia. It was August 12, 1925 when the first Alpha Psi Omega cast was formed from members of the Masquers.

The goal of the Alpha Psi Omega is to "encourage dramatic production at every step in a person’s academic career.” Now, with over 600 casts, the Alpha Psi continues to grow nationwide. The University of Wisconsin-Superior became a part of the Alpha Psi Omega when it joined in 1971.